

ACTRA Annual General Meeting 2023

Minutes

5 March 2023

The Annual General Meeting of the ACT Rogaining Association Incorporated, for the year 2023, was held on 5 March 2023 at the site of the Hash House for the 2023 ACT Paddy Pallin 6 hour rogaine, this being at Tallaganda State Forest.

The meeting was opened by the Immediate Past President, Julie Quinn, at 4:13 pm. The Immediate Past President declared that we had a quorum. There were approximately 200 people in attendance.

The Immediate Past President made an acknowledgement of country.

The Immediate Past President reminded members that the 2023 AGM documents were available on the ACTRA website, which may be accessed on phones from the site.

Minutes of the 2022 Meeting

Moved, David Baldwin, seconded by Benita Sommerville, that the minutes of the 2022 AGM, as posted on the ACTRA website, be accepted. Carried.

President's Report

The President was inter-state at the time of the AGM but the Immediate Past President tabled his annual report, which is available on the ACTRA website. The Immediate Past President thanked helpers for the 2022 rogaines and navigation workshop. She also thanked those who put their hands up for the remote area first aid course and their commitment to helping at events in the next couple of years.

She highlighted the President's comment of how rogaines take us to places we might not otherwise visit in our daily lives such as the northern Kosciuszko National Park and Bondo State Forest. There were 1852 participants in 825 teams across 8 events in 2022.

The upcoming calendar for the rest of 2023 was mentioned with the 24 hour rogaine again in northern Kosciuszko National Park being the next event.

On behalf of the President she thanked the ACT Government for a \$5,000 grant to subsidise events that help introduce people to rogaining in 2022.

Treasurer's Report and Audited Accounts

The Treasurer, Nick Lhude, referred the meeting to the audited accounts of the Association, as posted on the website. The ACTRA accounts were audited by Noel Luff, a service greatly appreciated over many years and noted that a new auditor would be required in future years.

The Treasurer noted that the cash reserves of the society were \$50,162 a loss of \$10,141 over the year after the ACT Government grant is included. Much of the loss is accounted for in investment, including the purchase of bulk quantities of Teslin paper, first aid training and winners mugs.

The Treasurer touched on where the costs of rogaining go for events with the majority being in catering, portaloos and map printing. Costing events accurately is a balancing act that the committee continues to refine over time.

Moved Julie Quinn, seconded Grant Battersby, that the audited accounts be accepted. Carried.

Election of Office Bearers and Committee

The Immediate Past President formally declared all office bearer and committee positions vacant, and announced her intention of conducting an election for these positions for the 2021 year.

Office Bearers:

Nominations were called for each of the Office Bearer positions in turn (as below), and, as only one nomination was received for each position, those nominated were each in turn declared elected. Those nominated and elected were:

Role	Nominated person	Moved	Seconded
President	Stephen Goggs	Julie Quinn	Nick Lhuede
Vice President	Kiera Doherty	Julie Quinn	Jiaying Goh
Treasurer	Nick Lhuede	Julie Quinn	Jiaying Goh
Secretary	Jiaying Goh	Julie Quinn	Ron Simpson

General Committee:

Nominations were called for the six to eight positions on the general committee, and nine nominations were received (and accepted), the first eight nominated were declared elected. As a number of committee members have foreshadowed extended periods of time out of the country during 2023, the committee will invite Monika Binder to participate as a proxy committee member for those unable to attend. To be formalised by the committee at a meeting. Those nominated were:

Nominated person	Moved	Seconded
David Baldwin	Julie Quinn	Nick Lhuede
Jean Douglass	Julie Quinn	Grant Battersby
Brad Vallette	Julie Quinn	Nick Lhuede
Benita Sommerville	Julie Quinn	Tony Slatyer
Jonathan Fearn	Julie Quinn	Benita Sommerville

Tom Fitzgerald	Julie Quinn	Holly Ashburner
Kelvin Meng	Julie Quinn	Damian Grenet
Mandy Leong	Benita Sommerville	Julie Quinn
Monika Binder	Benita Sommerville	Julie Quinn

The AGM Chair (Julie Quinn) reminded the meeting that she (Julie Quinn) is still formally part of the committee as the Immediate Past President, which does not require nomination / election.

Other Business

The Immediate Past President confirmed she had no items to discuss under other business. She asked for any items from the floor and received no requests.

Closure

There being no other business, the Immediate Past President declared the meeting closed at 4:20pm.